Life

Greetings from a Mom of Two!

I have accepted Mondays With Mac’s challenge to write a postcard from parenthood to a future Mommy. Here is my submission.

Greetings from Parenthood

Dear Mother-to-be,

Greetings from Parenthood! So you’re about to embark upon the greatest and most challenging adventure of your life! Here are a few thoughts from a mommy who is on her second, neverending trip.

What kind of trip does this postcard come from? It’s a trip where you decide where to go as you go. Some places are exhilarating, some places are downright scary, some places are funny, some places make you emotional, but mostly, all the places it takes you to make you want to stay on this adventure forever.

As I write these words, both my little ones are napping peacefully. As much as I cherish these moments of peace, sometimes very brief, like yesterday’s naps which left me a grand total of 17 minutes of silence, I cherish the chaos even more. Really, wouldn’t a trip be boring if it didn’t have some chaotic moments?

Most people will tell mothers-to-be to enjoy every moment of the trip because it all goes so fast. This is why a camera and a journal will be essential. And do not, under any circumstances, try to blink otherwise you’ll miss something!

Some people will even tell you to enjoy the billionth middle-of-the-night waking. I know I grumble about how tiring this adventure is. Two years ago as a new adventurer, I even frequently cried about it. When will it ever end *sob sob*? Then, it does and all of a sudden, your baby is a big kid who goes to bed without a peep. Last night, after telling me she loved me, the last thing Boo did before she drifted off to sleep was thank me for bringing her to three parks during the day. Moments like this not only make my heart melt, but let me know that I am not doing such a bad job as a mama!

And the baby? I am trying to gently teach him how to fall asleep on his own, but he looks so peaceful when I rock him to sleep. I am fairly certain he will not need to be rocked by the time he goes to university, so I do what works at the moment. The last eight months have gone by so fast. It cannot believe that someday, he will be a grown man who will no doubt tower over me. I am only 4’11”, so he may tower over me by the time he’s 12, but you know what I mean 🙂 So, in the meantime, I am enjoying his pudgy little fingers and his tiny little toes. So many times a day, I watch him in awe as he ever so elegantly uses his pincer grasp to eat what’s on his platter or random things on the floor, including at least one produce sticker which I clearly didn’t catch him eat because I found the evidence in his diaper the next day. This is one of the stories I will be able to tell him when he’s old enough to appreciate everything that has happened during this trip he is taking me on.

Yes, this journey through parenthood goes by too fast, but there is another thing “they” say that is right. Every stage is fun. My little girl cracks us up. Dinnertime is so entertaining, we wonder what we ever did to entertain ourselves before she became a toddler. Her monkey see, monkey do stage has given me a few chuckles, too. Every so often, I catch her play sink full of dishes, presumably dirty. The other day, I saw her doll’s diaper neatly closed up, right next to my son’s cloth diaper at the bottom of the stairs. I often toss his diapers there to bring back up into the washroom the next time I climb up the stairs. Apparently she thinks that’s where dirty diapers go. I also love how she’s no innocent and how it doesn’t take much to make her day. A snow storm on April 23rd? Very cool for a two-year-old. We dragged ourselves outside bright and early that morning, because I knew it would be gone by the afternoon. And you know what? It was wet, really wet, but we had a blast.

As much as I get teary-eyed thinking about how fast they are growing up, I also can’t wait to see what kind of people they will become. In the meantime, I try to enjoying my book-craft-doll-little people-park- play dough-puzzle-filled days.

Good luck, Mama!

Rebecca

Send your own Postcard from Parenthood!

Mondays with Mac

4 thoughts on “Greetings from a Mom of Two!

  1. Not sure if my first comment showed up, so I will take the chance that I am being redundant! Haha.
    I wanted to say that I completely agree about every stage being fun. Every time my kids get to the next stage of development I’ve said it’s my favourite. Through all three of them!
    It sure is a wiggly ride, isn’t it?
    Thanks for sharing!
    Dawn

    1. Hi Dawn! I am pretty new at this blog thing and you’re actually my first comment. I hadn’t realized that my settings require me to approve a comment first. That’s why it wasn’t showing up. Yes, it’s quite the ride and I can’t wait to see how the rest goes, even though I wish I could freeze time sometimes.

  2. Love this! Thank-you! You are so right about every stage being fun – mine is still only 8 months but for the last several months I keep thinking “OK, this is the best age, I’m going to be so sad when this stage is over” and then the next one pretty awesome too.

    I also love “I am fairly certain he will not need to be rocked by the time he goes to university.” I may steal that. And add that he won’t need to be breastfed either. Hopefully.

    1. Very true. I know from experience that they eventually do stop breastfeeding and then you’ll be sad about it. I nursed my first for 18 months and the last time she nursed was during the early hours on Christmas morning. A lovely Christmas gift. Thanks for the idea for Greetings from Parenthood. I can’t wait to read all the entries.

Leave a Reply

