Baby · Birthday · Cupcakes · DIY · Fun food · Kids · Party

First Birthday – Lion Theme

Loup is ONE! He’s a Leo, so I thought that the lion would be a cute theme.

First, I bought some awesome safari graphics from MyGraphico. LOVE MyGraphico. The designer is Kika Esteves and the graphics came with lots of safari animals and trees, but for this project I used the lion only. To make the toppers, I just printed the lions, cut them out and added a light blue scallop on the toppers with “J” and a dark blue scallop on the toppers with “1”.

It was a Sunday brunch party, so I thought that lemon bread cupcakes with lemon cream cheese frosting would be good. Everyone but Loup, who cried during the whole “Happy Birthday” song, loved the cupcakes.

Lion cupcake toppers
Lion Cupcake Toppers
Cupcakes with Lion Toppers
Lemon bread cupcakes with lemon cream cheese frosting. Yum!

I used the same MyGraphico lion to make the tags on the juice jugs. I had seen, on Pinterest and blogs, individual water or juice bottles with wrappers, but I couldn’t find individual orange juice bottles that were 100% juice, so I went with jugs. The idea for the little cups with veggies and dip I saw on Pinterest and on blogs as well.

Orange juice and veggie cups
Orange juice and veggie cups!

I made Loup’s birthday hat with the following template. I decided not to put the lion on it, because I was also using it for his cakesmash, which I had done a week earlier.

DIY Birthday Hat
DIY Birthday Hat

I made these masks for guests to wear for fun and pictures. They were a hit! I used this template and this template. To make the masks, I just used two different colours of cardstock for each mask. I especially love the first one.

DIY Lion Masks
DIY Lion Masks

Finally, here are a few party extras! The balloon I got at the supermarket. Each year, we get the kids a big balloon on the morning of their actual birthday. The balloon was a week old by the party. Napkins were from a party store and the loot bags were a very cool find at the dollar store. They came with markers so that each child could colour his or her own. In the loot bags, I included Barnum’s Animal Crackers, because there is a lion on the individual bags. Too cute! The other lion accessories I already had at home.

Lion Party Decorations
Lion Party Decorations

Loved his theme and thought it was perfect for my little lion cub. What birthday themes have you done in the past or which ones would you like to do someday?

One thought on “First Birthday – Lion Theme

Leave a Reply

